Governance Structure

Governance document & work plan


The Addis Tax Initiative (ATI) is a partnership of like-minded countries and organisations united by the vision of tax systems that work for people and advance the Sustainable Development Goals (SDGs). The ATI General Assembly, the ATI Steering Committee and the ATI Secretariat are responsible for promoting the interests of the ATI and ensuring the achievement of its objectives. Other structures may be established by the ATI Steering Committee in consultation with the ATI General Assembly.

ATI General Assembly

The ATI General Assembly consists of all ATI members and meets annually. ATI members are responsible for:

  1. Policy advocacy by mainstreaming the ATI and its goals as well as the importance of DRM into the national and international political sphere
  2. Strategic development and positioning of the ATI
  3. Promoting ownership by contributing to ATI activities, such as the annual monitoring exercise on the implementation of the ATI Declaration 2025
  4. Knowledge building by sharing good practices and engaging in peer-exchange on the implementation of the ATI commitments

ATI Steering Committee

All activities of the ATI are overseen by the ATI Steering Committee, which provides strategic guidance and monitors the progress made towards reaching the goals defined in the ATI Declaration 2025. The ATI Steering Committee is responsible for:

  1. Policy advocacy by representing and lobbying for the ATI and its goals
  2. Strengthening the ATI membership by advocating for the ATI to non-ATI members, engaging with constituents on strategic ATI-relevant documents and enabling an inclusive environment for all ATI members within the partnership
  3. Strategic development by offering guidance to the ATI Secretariat, the work of the ATI Consultative Groups and task forces
  4. Steering the ATI by approving the annual work plans, new ATI members, the formation of ATI Consultative Groups and ATI representatives to (high-level) events
  5. Overseeing the work of the ATI Secretariat and reporting to the ATI General Assembly (through the ATI Secretariat on its behalf)


The ATI Steering Committee comprises representatives of three ATI partner countries and three ATI development partners in their capacity as representatives of their countries and organisations. It is headed by two co-chairs, with one co-chair from a development partner and the other from a partner country. The ATI Steering Committee members are appointed through expression of interest and serve for a period of one year with the possibility of extension for one additional year. Currently, ATI Steering Committee consists of representatives from the following countries:

The ATI Steering Committee meets virtually and on an ad-hoc basis. If necessary, other ATI member countries or supporting organisations can participate as observers. To ensure transparency, minutes are taken at all meetings and published on the ATI website.

ATI Secretariat

The ATI Secretariat is facilitated by the International Tax Compact (ITC), which is commissioned by the German Federal Ministry for Economic Cooperation and Development (BMZ) and implemented by the Deutsche Gesellschaft für Internationale Zusammenarbeit GmbH (GIZ). The ITC aims to enhance DRM in partner countries and to promote fair, efficient and transparent tax systems. It facilitates results-oriented initiatives in the area of tax and development and supports them in meeting their objectives. As host to the ATI Secretariat, the ITC is responsible for:

  1. Implementation of operational ATI activities, including such as facilitating the ATI Consultative Groups, meetings, the ATI monitoring exercise, etc.
  2. Representation of the ATI and lobbying for its goals at international events and processes
  3. Increasing visibility and outreach of the ATI with relevant stakeholders
  4. Network management among ATI members and beyond
  5. Trendscouting by identifying emerging topics, ideas and processes of interest to the ATI General Assembly, ATI Steering Committee and ATI Consultative Groups